Jade Lounge 青隅 – Mandarin Oriental Taipei 臺北文華東方酒店

Jade Lounge 青隅 – Mandarin Oriental Hotel 臺北東方文華酒店

  158 DunHau North Road  台北市敦化北路158號

 02 2715 6886

http://www.mandarinoriental.com/taipei/fine-dining/the-jade-lounge/

Jade Lounge 青隅

After 8 years of wait and Mandarin Oriental Taipei finally opened it’s door in May.  MO Taipei made it’s grand entrance and claiming the title of the first SIX stars hotel in Taiwan.  It adopts the ostentatious and classy style just like others around the world. From Mario Cittadini to Frank Haasnoot and Tony Chi you can tell how much effort and thoughts  the hotel has put in to it’s luxurious name.  Jade Lounge 青隅 Jade Lounge 青隅 Jade Lounge 青隅 Jade Lounge 青隅 Jade Lounge 青隅 Jade Lounge 青隅 Jade Lounge 青隅 Jade Lounge 青隅 Jade Lounge 青隅

Enjoy the full body massage followed by my favorite rose petal jam scone and Strawberry green tea is always my kind of afternoon.  I made reservation for afternoon tea at the Jade Lounge well before the opening day.  However, I had my hopes too high for Jade Lounge, after a few visits to MO, I would say I like  Coco and YaGe the best.

Jade Lounge unlike Cafe Causette in Hong Kong, they have a minimum charge of one tea set ($1250) per person.

They offer three different types of  Tea sets : The three tiers Jade afternoon tea (TWD $1250), Afternoon tea pairing with Ruinart ‘R’ Champagne  (TWD $1900) and The caviar afternoon tea – served with 15g caviar and champagne (TWD $3750)

Menu (click here)

Jade Lounge 青隅 Jade Lounge 青隅 Jade Lounge 青隅 Jade Lounge 青隅 Jade Lounge 青隅I paired mine with my favorite Strawberry green tea, it still tastes the same.  Couldn’t wait till I have my scones here, but they only offer some strange flavors here like raisins, green tea and chocolate.  Where’s my plain scones??

Jade Lounge 青隅 Jade Lounge 青隅

The three tiers came with : sweets, savories, cookies n scones as well as Le Jambon Cru on baguette and petits fours on the side.

I would say the top tier was the best and they tasted as good as their look.

For the Middle tier,  they tasted blend but you can tell that they use fresh ingredients.  I loved the Crab Remoulade with Lemon Caviar and the Egg Mimosa was way too dry;  wasn’t my cup of tea.

Jade Lounge 青隅Jade Lounge 青隅Jade Lounge 青隅Jade Lounge 青隅Jade Lounge 青隅Jade Lounge 青隅Jade Lounge 青隅Jade Lounge 青隅Jade Lounge 青隅Jade Lounge 青隅

Now, onto the worst but yet the ones I had been reminiscing after my last HK trip.  The scones came in random flavor, which left me with nothing but go with the raisins ones.  The scone itself was too dry and floury, it didn’t have the buttery scent like the ones at Smith and Hsu.  Rose petal jam wasn’t on the menu, so they came with Lemon curd and blueberry jam, I asked for whipped cream and had to wait for 25 mins.  The chocolate were a strong finish note , the dark chocolate were to my liking and with a strong cocoa flavor.  Frank Haasnoot made my day.  Overall, I guess an afternoon tea of me, myself n I at the MO won’t be happening in Taipei since scones are never the same and you can’t just order plain scones and Strawberry green tea, but the tea set.

Don’t forget to like my post and follow me on Facebook (link) and Instagram (link)Jade Lounge 青隅Jade Lounge 青隅Jade Lounge 青隅Jade Lounge 青隅

Leave a Reply

